Skip to content

Got Cabin Fever?

March 10, 2011
Nulheganaki

March, 2011 Snowstorm

By Luke Willard

Got Cabin Fever?  I do.  Each year around this time, I hear people talk about Cabin Fever and I see many of them become quite ‘bummed out’.  Sure, I get a little antsy but it’s never bothered me that much… until now.  I feel like a caged animal.  I NEED to feel the earth under my feet.  Perhaps I’m getting older or perhaps it’s just been a rough winter.  The thought of heading into the woods where there are no phones, no emails, no reporters, and no noise is as appealing to me as just about anything I can think of.

As a child, I was always in the woods exploring and dreaming, and you know what?  I still do.  I still sit down when I come across a thick bed of fir needles to imagine it as my bed.  I still track animals, big and small, just to catch a glimpse of a day in the life of a partridge, rabbit, deer, or coyote.  I still use the same trails over and over.  I still memorize all the resources, gifts, and medicine that the forest has to offer.

This season, I’ll be back out there and with any luck, sooner than later.  However, with the recent 3-foot layer of snow that we received here in Nulhegan country, I think I’ll require some tall rubber boots because I’m quite certain we’re going to have one helluva messy mud season.  Earth is earth though, and I’ll still be happy to see it and feel it under my feet.

So why did I write this short and obvious article?  I don’t know… sometimes the obvious needs to be stated, I guess.  WE’RE READY FOR SPRING!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Wolfheart Spirit permalink
    March 10, 2011 4:54 PM

    Your so right Luke, We won’t see grass for another 2 months…Hopefully….Snowing here now…
    Wolfheart

  2. March 10, 2011 5:46 PM

    I so agree with you there is nothing like being in the woods or a garden! The most expensive perfumes in the world can not measure up to the lovely clean smell of trees, grass or a handful of soil! There are so many lessons we can learn from Mother Earth and I too can not wait for this snow to be gone. I understand that the earth needs the time of rest in winter time but now it is time for the season of rebirth .

  3. March 10, 2011 8:21 PM

    I took a leap of faith that spring will come and purchased starter pots and soil. I have already seen shoots on my squash plants and tomato plants while still anxiously awaiting signs of green from my gourds. The snow still surrounds my little starter green house so these pots are all over my dining room table grabbing sunlight from the windows and the overhead light I leave on day and night. I look forward to getting the little pots into the hot house so they can grow strong and direct sunlight, but until more snow melts, I cannot connect the heater and so they will remain safe in the house until a few more rain storms.

  4. March 11, 2011 5:27 AM

    I too, am ready for spring! I remember a time when I was younger and if I needed to think or just get away from the community noise, I had a place up in the woods, that I could just go to relax, and listen to the sounds of the forest.
    I am no longer able to access this place, as time marches on and property becomes owned by those with houses. However, in order to get in touch with Mother Earth and all her splendor, I can look out the window and see a glorious ring of trees and think, if only… spring would hurry! I am ready to embrace spring and all that is, all that comes with it… mud season, road construction and finally pow wows and summer!!! Woo Hoo!!!

Leave a Reply

